Insurance Information

Working with Insurance

Many insurance plans contain chiropractic care benefits. Our staff can contact your insurance company and verify your chiropractic benefits for you. Hosmer Chiropractic Health works with several types of insurance, including personal insurance, auto accident insurance, and worker’s compensation for workplace injuries. Listed below are short descriptions of the various types of insurance that may cover your chiropractic care.

Personal Health Insurance

Hosmer Chiropractic Health accepts most health insurance plans that provide benefits for chiropractic care and massage therapy. Some plans may require a small co-payment, or a payment defined by your insurance policy that is paid by you to your healthcare provider at the time of service. Our office can determine your available chiropractic benefits before your initial appointment. Please provide us with your full name, date of birth, and insurance information when you call to schedule an appointment. Personal insurance is the type of insurance that usually covers sports injuries.

Motor Vehicle Accident Insurance

If you were in a car accident in Oregon, you are eligible to receive at least $15,000 toward your health care costs. Motor vehicle accident insurance benefits can be used for numerous natural health care services, including chiropractic and massage therapy. You can open a medical claim by following these steps:

  1. Call your auto insurance company (a claims adjuster will be assigned to your case and will help you open your claim)
  2. Provide our clinic with the following information: the name of your insurance company, the name and phone number of your claims adjuster, and your medical claim number (which you get from your adjuster)

Some people injured in an auto accident may wish to speak with a personal injury attorney. Our clinic can provide you with a referral to a personal injury attorney for legal advice.

Workers Compensation

You may be eligible for worker’s compensation benefits if you are injured while you are at work. Worker’s compensation laws in Oregon state that, if you have successfully opened a worker’s compensation claim, you are entitled to 18 chiropractic visits or 60 days of care, provided your chiropractor is your “attending physician.” You are only allowed one attending physician on your initial claim, and you must switch to an attending physician who is an MD or DO after your 18 visits or 60 days of care.

Your new attending physician can refer you for further chiropractic care, if they deem it necessary. Your chiropractor, in this case, becomes your “ancillary care provider.” If you are currently seeking care from a non-chiropractic attending physician, you can change your attending physician to your chiropractor. Oregon worker’s compensation laws allow you the freedom to change your attending physician up to two times after your initial selection.

Payment at the Time of Service

Hosmer Chiropractic Health accepts payment by credit card, cash, and check at the time of service if you do not have health insurance that includes chiropractic benefits.